Coolnesses major and minor

A quick roundup of stuff that caught my attention recently…

  • I hit a small jackpot over the weekend at the used book store – I picked up Antonella Magagnini’s brand-new, giant (14″x17″) coffee table book, The Art of Pompeii, for $3 cash plus some trade credit. This is absolutely the most lavish presentation of the Pompeii murals that I have seen outside of the actual traveling exhibit (which I wrote about back in 2008).
  • Courtesy of the always-interesting podcast The World in Words, I learned yesterday about one Martin Worthington, British Assyriologist and expert in Babylonian language and literature, who is assembling an online audio archive of readings of Babylonian poetry and other texts – and who is so passionate about his subject that he has written a Teach Yourself book for learning the language.
  • Andrew over at Project Conversion writes movingly about a very intense religious experience.
About Erik

Husband, father, biblioholic, singer, drummer, Pagan, UU
This entry was posted in around the web, the arts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coolnesses major and minor

  1. eklogai says:

    Oooo! That is a very awesome book find – and an unbelievable price to boot!

    Thanks for the shout-out. I’m looking forward to this project. So many wonderful and important quotes to share.

  2. Feral Boy says:

    One of my favorite finds was a copy of “Nightmares In The Sky”, photos of gargoyles/grotesques with commentary by Stephen King, for $3 ! They had more copies at that price, but for some reason we were REALLY short at the time so I just got the one.

  3. Erik says:

    I remember that book… I used to have a copy. Wonder if I still do? Guess I’ll find out some time soon, as I’m in the middle of (re)-cataloging the library right now courtesy of the new laptop and my old copy of Readerware

Leave a Reply

